Board of Taxation makes four appointments

15 May 2015

The Government has made four appointments to the Board of Taxation, including its new deputy chair of the board, today.

John Emerson has taken up the role of deputy chair for the next two years, and Karen Payne, Neville Mitchell, and Ann-Maree Wolff have been appointed board members for three years.

Emerson has over 40 years' experience in tax law and is widely recognised as a tax specialist and other laws applicable to charities. He has been board member since 2007 and is currently a consultant at Herbert Smith Freehills.

Related News:

Also coming from a law background is Payne who has experience in complex tax-related matters across financial services, property, mining, energy, and utilities. She is currently a partner in Minter Ellison's tax practice, is a member of the Tax Committees of the Law Council of Australia and Property Council of Australia, and has previously assisted the board as an expert panel member.

Mitchell is currently the president of the Group of 100, a body fro Australia's senior finance executives from large private and public business enterprises and is chief financial officer of Cochlear Limited.

Wolff is currently the Asia Pacific head of tax for Rio Tinto and has been involved in tax policy development for the Corporate Tax Association, Business Council of Australia, and Minerals Council of Australia.

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory advisory body that contributes a business and a broader community perspective in improving the design of taxation laws and their operation.

Recommended for you



Add new comment