Fund Manager of the Year 2016

The 2016 Fund Manager of the Year awards was another extremely successful night! A big congratulations to all the winners and finalists from the Money Management team!

The Money Management and Lonsec Fund Manager of the Year Awards is a well known, prestigious Awards Ceremony that recognises the achievements of the industries key players. 

The ceremony covers over 20 fund management categories where the finalists and winners are rated by Lonsec. Money Management and Super Review encompass other areas of the industry and award the Young Achiever, Paraplanner, Financial Planner of the Year and the Lifetime Achievement award.

Now into its 29th year the ceremony is truly a well-known and not to be missed event, attractin over 350 attendees where all winners are announced.

Event Details

Date: Thursday 26 May
Venue: Four Seasons Hotel, Sydney
  Location Map
Time: 7pm until late
Dress Code: Black Tie



View Finalists

Alternative Investments

  • Aspect Diversified Futures
  • AQR Wholesale Managed Futures Fund - Class 1P    
  • Partners Group Global Value Fund

Asset Allocator of the Year

  • BT Active Balanced Fund
  • IOOF MultiMix Balanced Growth Trust     
  • MLC Inflation Plus Assertive Portfolio 


Australian Equities (Broad Cap)

  • Macquarie High Conviction Fund    
  • Smallco Broadcap Fund
  • WaveStone Wholesale Australian Share Fund

Australian Equities (Small Cap)

  • Ausbil MicroCap Fund    
  • Hyperion Small Growth Companies Fund    

Australian Fixed Income (inc Diversified)

  • BT Fixed Interest Wholesale Trust    
  • Henderson Australian Fixed Interest Fund  
  • PIMCO Australian Bond Fund – Wholesale Class

Emerging Manager

  • Smarter Money Active Cash Fund - Smarter Money Investments Pty Ltd
  • The Montgomery Fund - Montgomery Investment Management    
  • Triple3 Volatility Advantage Fund – Triple 3 Partners    


Equities (Long Short)

  • Ellerston Australian Market Neutral Fund
  • Grant Samuel Tribeca Alpha Plus Fund    
  • Platinum International Healthcare Fund    

ETF Provider

  • BetaShares Capital Limited
  • iShares 
  • Vanguard Investments Australia Limited   

Global Equities (Broad Cap)

  • Arrowstreet Global Equity Fund
  • IFP Global Franchise Fund
  • T. Rowe Price Global Equity Fund

Global Equities (Regional & Emerging Markets)

  • BT Wholesale Global Emerging Markets Opportunities    
  • Fidelity China Fund    
  • Macquarie Asia New Stars No.1 Fund

Global Fixed Income

  • Colchester Global Government Bond Fund    
  • Franklin Templeton Global Aggregate Bond Fund    
  • PIMCO Global Bond Fund – Wholesale Class


  • BT Active Balanced Wholesale Trust    
  • IOOF MultiMix Balanced Growth Trust    
  • MLC Wholesale Horizon 4 Balanced Portfolio

Property & Infrastructure Securities

  • Lazard Global Listed Infrastructure Fund    
  • Magellan Infrastructure Fund (Unhedged)    
  • Resolution Capital Global Property Securities Fund

Responsible Investments

  • Australian Ethical Australian Shares Fund    
  • BT Wholesale Ethical Share Fund    
  • Perpetual Wholesale Ethical SRI Fund

Retirement Product Innovation

  • AllianceBernstein Managed Volatility Equities Fund    
  • Sanlam Managed Risk Australian Share Fund    
  • T. Rowe Price Dynamic Global Bond Fund

SMA Portfolio Award

  • DNR Capital Australian Equities High Conviction
  • Macquarie PPM Growth Ex20 Australian Equity    
  • Perpetual Direct Equity Alpha SMA    

Overall Fund Manger of the Year 2016

Finalists and the winner will be anounced on the night!

BDM of the Year

  • Stephen Alcorn, MLC, NSW
  • Andrew Bannerman, MLC, NSW
  • Daniel Clark, Zurich, NSW
  • Cameron Fitter, AMP Captial Investments, NSW​
  • Tom Haggie, MLC, NSW
  • Brett Madigan, TAL, NSW
  • Kylee Shepherd, AMP, NSW
  • Lianda Stoel, MLC/NAB, NSW

BDM of the Year

  • Michelle Dolan, Macquarie Life, QLD
  • David Griffiths, MLC, QLD
  • Hosea Huang, ANZ/OnePath Life, QLD
  • Jason Johnson, MLC, QLD
  • Craig Logan, MLC, QLD

BDM of the Year

  • D'Arcy Evans, Zurich, SA/NT
  • Nathan Krieg, AMP, SA/NT
  • Sebasian Nazar, AMP, SA/NT

BDM of the Year

  • Walid Harach, MLC, VIC
  • Erica Malliotis, MLC, VIC
  • Tracey Moore, BT Life, VIC/TAS
  • Leigh Orton, MLC, VIC
  • Michael Trist, IOOF, VIC/TAS
  • Gee Vas, Zurich, VIC/TAS

BDM of the Year

  • Albie Fernandes, ING, WA 
  • Bernie Fernades, Synchron, WA
  • Scott Taylor, AMP, WA

2016 Young Achiever of the Year

  • Crystal Bobir, Financial Planner, Tupicoffs
  • Shane Nicholas, Financial Planner/Director, Innate Financial Services Group
  • Lea Schodel, Partner & Financial Adviser, MHP Private Wealth

2016 Paraplanner of the Year

  • Kearsten James, Head of Advice, Tupicoffs
  • Tim Dawe, Paraplanner, Innate Financial Services Group
  • Ben Nguyen, Paraplanner, Innate Financial Services Group

2016 Financial Planner of the Year

  • Helga Baxter, Managing Director, Crosby Dalwood Pty Ltd
  • Stuart Barry, Principal, Tas Ethical
  • Lisa Duggan, Financial Planner & Director, Epona Financial Guidance
  • Joseph Hoe, Senior Financial Planner, Wealthwise Pty Ltd