Finalists announced for Fund Manager of the Year Awards 2024

Fund Manager of the Year lonsec Awards

22 April 2024
| By Laura Dew |
expand image

Ninety finalists have been chosen to compete at the 36th annual Fund Manager of the Year Awards.

Hosted by Money Management in conjunction with research partner Lonsec Research, the awards are the most anticipated program of the year in the funds management industry. The leading lights of the industry will gather at the black-tie gala ceremony to celebrate the achievements of the nominated managers and professionals.

A total of 90 finalists have been nominated across 18 group and three individual categories at this year’s awards, including five finalists in the prestigious Fund Manager of the Year Award category.

Franklin Templeton Australia was named Fund Manager of the Year at the 2023 Fund Manager of the Year Awards ceremony.

Lonsec Research executive director, Lorraine Robinson, commended the finalists for their achievements and for being selected this year.

“The Fund Manager of the Year Awards are a celebration of the very best of the funds management industry and we are again thrilled to partner with Money Management to showcase this year’s finest and brightest,” Robinson said.

“We have applied the same rigorous approach we take to researching and rating funds, to evaluating the nominees and choosing winners in each of the group award categories, and we congratulate all the finalists announced today.”

Individuals will compete for awards across the BDM of the Year, Rising Star of the Year, and Marketer of the Year categories.

Click here to view the full list of finalists.

Winners will be announced at the 36th annual Fund Manager of the Year Awards 2024 black-tie gala ceremony on Thursday, 13 June 2024, at The Fullerton, Sydney. Click here to buy your tickets.

Group award methodology

Utilising their market-leading investment research, Lonsec Research has developed a robust awards methodology to form the backbone for assessing and benchmarking Australia’s leading fund managers.

The finalists for group categories are determined by Lonsec Research. The judging criteria for all categories include both quantitative and qualitative factors, acknowledging long-term investment performance, strength of business, investment process and investment team, and ESG integration. In addition, features such as growth, innovation, business excellence and contribution to Australia’s financial sector are taken into account.

The finalists are determined by the nomination framework requiring a rating of Recommended or above for at least three years along with performance criteria. The Lonsec Research leadership team determines the winners of each group category.

Individual award methodology

The judging criteria for individual awards acknowledge growth, business development, diversity, leadership, innovation, business excellence and contribution to Australia’s financial sector.

As part of the judging process, all individual award submissions undergo a thorough audit, checking demographic and other information against category eligibility criteria based on the information provided in the submission.

Those submissions deemed eligible are reviewed and assessed by a panel of Momentum Media events and editorial team members and executives, plus industry stakeholders where required, to determine the finalists for each category.

The number of finalists varies for each award category.

The finalists’ submissions will be delivered to a panel of respected professionals and business leaders and will be assessed against the criteria of each award category.

The judges will score each part of the submission against the category’s criteria, giving an aggregated score. The combined judging scores for each submission for each category are tabulated, with the highest-scoring submission deemed the winner.

Winners will be announced at the 36th annual Fund Manager of the Year Awards 2024 black-tie gala ceremony on Thursday, 13 June 2024 at The Fullerton, Sydney. Click here to buy your tickets.

The ceremony also presents an opportunity for members of the funds management and financial services industry to celebrate the achievements of established fund managers as well as new entrants, boutique funds, senior professionals, and the rising stars of tomorrow while networking with industry leaders and peers.

To view the full list of finalists, click here.

For more information about the awards ceremony, click here.

Read more about:


Add new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.

Recommended for you

sub-bgsidebar subscription

Never miss the latest news and developments in wealth management industry



Old Fella

Of course a survey commissioned by an adviser coaching business would find that having an external business coach is a k...

11 hours ago
One foot out the door

A financial planner is expected to earn between $95,000 and $120,000 per year, depending on the state. Really? I don't...

20 hours 39 minutes ago

The whole thing is a bit frightening especially the last note where notes on what might be done could result in the need...

1 day 17 hours ago

ASIC has cancelled the AFS licence of a Sydney wealth firm, the fifth Sydney firm to see a cancellation since the start of the year....

1 week 6 days ago

A former financial adviser has been banned by ASIC from providing financial services for inappropriate advice, among multiple breaches....

4 weeks ago

More than 20 winners from the funds management industry have been crowned at this year’s awards....

6 days 19 hours ago